Whether you are the parent of a teen who recently started driving or you are a young driver facing drunk driving charges, you need to take a close look at various issues related to underage drunk driving cases. For example, familiarize yourself with the law and the potential penalties associated with these cases.
Every year, many young drivers’ lives turn upside down as a result of drunk driving charges. Some people unexpectedly find themselves in this position even though they had a minuscule amount of alcohol in their system and some young drivers are wrongly accused of driving drunk.
The penalties for underage drunk driving in Missouri
According to the Missouri State Highway Patrol, those charged with underage drunk driving face serious penalties. For example, a driver in this position could lose his or her license for 30 days. Moreover, they have to pay a $45 fee in order to have their license reinstated and they also have to finish a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program. In addition to paying for the cost of the course, young drivers in this position have to pay the Department of Mental Health a $249 fee.
Missouri’s BAC limit for drivers under 21
In Missouri, people under the age of 21 are not allowed to buy, consume or possess alcohol. Missouri has a zero tolerance law to prevent young people from driving with any amount of alcohol in their system. If you are under the age of 21 and you have a BAC reading of .02 or greater, you could face drunk driving charges.