You’re Worth Fighting For

What the law says about booster seats in Missouri

On Behalf of | Dec 28, 2021 | Firm News |

Children are especially vulnerable during vehicle crashes. Booster seats do a great job of protecting little ones from harm in accidents.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says booster seats save the lives of 325 children every year. Unfortunately, many parents do not respect these mechanisms and why they are necessary.

Booster seat laws in Missouri

In the Show-Me State, children under 4 years old must be in passenger restraint systems. This is also required for kids weighing less than 40 pounds, regardless of age.

Additionally, there are laws surrounding height. Little ones between 4 and 8 years old who weigh between 40 and 80 pounds and are under 4-foot-9 need booster seats. Guardians of kids who weigh 80 pounds or more, or are 4-foot-9 and taller, can legally use safety belts. Some parents with children meeting these criteria still place them in booster seats.

Some vehicles have back seats that cannot handle booster seat installation. These instances are legal exceptions to the booster seat rule.

Fines for violating booster seat laws in Missouri

Ignoring booster seat laws is a legal infraction. Those who are guilty must pay a $50 fine, along with court costs. An individual facing a charge may avoid punishment by showing proof of owning a booster seat.

Of course, none of these laws protect children when seats are faulty. In these instances, filing a personal injury lawsuit against the manufacturer is reasonable.

Booster seats and the laws surrounding them exist to provide critical protection. Strap in little passengers when appropriate and avoid tragedy.

Archives